Faculty and Staff

Metro College Success Program faculty and staffs are a diverse group representing various backgrounds and disciplines. We are held together by our passion for social justice and equity that fosters student success.

Administration

Mary Beth Love, PhD

Executive Director

Email: love@sfsu.edu

I am passionate about working for a mission-driven organization like Metro and committed to education equity which sustains that passion.

 

Program & Admin Operations

Steve Puig, MA

Academic Office Coordinator

Email: spuig@sfsu.edu

I am aware of our program's vision and what our ultimate goals for the Metro College Success Program - students’ success in college and their respective lives. This encourages me to work harder to achieve better results and cultivates productivity that helps me to feel valued and motivated.

 

Fiscal & Human Resources

Phonita Yuen, MA

Fiscal and Admin Analyst

Email: phonitay@sfsu.edu

My passion is maximizing qualitative productivity and support for the Metro community in the most economical way.

 

Metro Affiliated Tenure Track Student Success Hires

Rama Kased, EdD

Director of Student Services

Email: ramak@sfsu.edu

My approach and work is very much guided by equity and disseminating all forms of oppression in schooling processes. I am also the mother of two amazing and fierce little ones.

 

Virginia M. Schwarz, PhD

Assistant Professor of English/Composition

Email: vschwarz@sfsu.edu

I am a first-generation college student, and I am excited to be in Metro to co-create anti oppressive and equitable classrooms and spaces with students. I have a cat, Mr. Zucchini Ralphie, and I love geeky boardgames.

 

Stephanie Claussen, PhD

Assistant Professor in Engineering

Email: sclaussen@sfsu.edu

I am passionate about creating and teaching an engineering curriculum that supports the success of first-generation students and incorporates questions of social justice. I was born and raised in the Bay Area and am thrilled to be teaching at SFSU!

 

Data Engineering & Analytics

Celia Graterol, MPH

Director of Data Engineering & Analytics

Email: celiag@sfsu.edu

Personal interest: I love being in nature. I love to mountain bike, ski, rock climb, skateboard, surf and hike. And to keep my body in shape for these sports, I practice yoga almost daily.

 

Paul Previde, MS, JD

Data Scientist/Software Engineer

Email: pprevide@mail.sfsu.edu

I enjoy developing and using software to organize and analyze data in ways that contribute to Metro's efforts in fostering student success and education equity.

 

Curriculum & Faculty Development

Savita Malik, EdD, MPH

Director of Curriculum and Faculty Development

Email: smalik@sfsu.edu

My passion is social justice curriculum development and supporting faculty to be more equitable and effective instructors.

 

Tina Bartolome, MFA

Associate Director of Curriculum and Faculty Development

Email: kbartolome@sfsu.edu

I grew up in San Francisco, got my BA from SFSU, and my commitment to education for liberation stems from being mentored by fierce educators, artists, and organizers of color who serve their communities. I am passionate about continuing this tradition.

Olive Mitra, MA

Curriculum and Faculty Coach

Email: omitra@sfsu.edu

Watching students understand the systems of oppression that lie underneath our societal structures, and then find ways to fight against it is why I teach for Metro.

Student Services

Gustavo Lopez, MA

Associate Director of Student Services

Email: gus1492@sfsu.edu

I became an educator in order to advocate for students that come from similar disenfranchised communities.

Rose Carmona-Arbulu, MA

Student Services Lead

Email: rcarmona@sfsu.edu

I am committed to helping all students have equitable access to higher education and helping them navigate the complex institutional policies.

Daniel Paz Gabriner, MPA(c)

Data Manager of Student Services

Email: dgabriner@sfsu.edu

Currently, I am a MPA student at San Francisco State University. Also a bread baker!

Cesar Campos, MA

Student Services Coordinator of MARC

Email: chcampos@mail.sfsu.edu

My passion is working for social equity within the education system, and improving the success of first generation college students.

Shelby Baizar, BA

Coordinator of Student Outreach & Admission

Email: sbaizar@sfsu.edu

I am an alumni of SF State, following in the footsteps of the Gators who came before I am committed to academic equity and culturally relevant education.

Ronny Batista, BA

Coordinator of Student Outreach & Recruitment

Email: ronnyb@mail.sfsu.edu

Getting my Bachelor degree My work passion is helping students and working in the community I have grew up in.

Tobin Galang, MA

Metro Sophomore Retention Project Lead

Email: tgalang@sfsu.edu

I strive to build our community’s power to struggle for justice and to change the world. What drives me is a desire to serve the people.

Metro Academy Coordinators

Danny Chau, MA

Metro Academy Coordinator of Business

Email: dchau@sfsu.edu

What inspires me is I always learn something new from Metro students every single day. I am inspired by their stories, resilience, and passion to give back to their communities.

 

Mark Bautista, PhD

Metro Academy Coordinator of Ethnic Studies and Education

Email: markb@sfsu.edu

My practice in ethnic studies and urban education is grounded in everyday service and interactions with underserved youth and communities of color.

 

Gustavo Lopez, MA

Metro Academy Coordinator of Health I

Email: gus1492@sfsu.edu

I became an educator in order to advocate for students that come from similar disenfranchised communities.

 

Maharaj "Raju" Desai, PhD

Metro Academy Coordinator of Health II & III

Email: rdesai@sfsu.edu

When Iʻm not in the classroom, I love to hike, cook, read, and explore new places and restaurants.

 

Meagan Nance, MA

Metro Academy Coordinator of Liberal and Creative Arts I & II

Email: megnance@sfsu.edu

Ultimately, what inspires my work in Metro is my vision to push students to speak, think, act and behave in ways that expand the realm of what is possible and what is just. This is guided by my philosophy that action measures and reflects the worth of any education.

 

Genievive Del Mundo Mendieta, MS

Metro Academy Coordinator of STEM 1 & STEM 2

Email: gen@sfsu.edu

I love to spend time outdoors going hiking, stand up paddle boarding, and competing in races.

 

Natasha Crawford, MS

Metro Academy Coordinator of STEM 3 & STEM 4

Email: ncrawfor@sfsu.edu